7
\$\begingroup\$

Several spells, like Healing Word and Hold Person, require you to see your target. Does this mean that you aren't allowed to target yourself with spells that require you to see your target when you're blinded or invisible? For reference:

Healing Word

A creature of your choice that you can see within range regains hit points equal to 1d4 + your spellcasting ability modifier. This spell has no effect on undead or constructs.

Hold Person

Choose a humanoid that you can see within range. The target must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or be paralyzed for the duration. At the end of each of its turns, the target can make another Wisdom saving throw. On a success, the spell ends on the target.

\$\endgroup\$
9
\$\begingroup\$

If the spell requires you to see a creature to target then you can't target yourself when you are invisible. The exception to this is if either:

  • The spell/effect that caused the invisibility allows you to see yourself
  • You have some other item or effect (like Truesight) that allows you to see invisible creatures

Supporting Tweet from Jeremy Crawford:

You can't see yourself while invisible, unless you're under the effect of a game feature that says you can.

If you are blinded you can't see, and as a result you can't use spells that require you to see the target as you can't see anything

BLINDED

  • A blinded creature can't see and automatically fails any ability check that requires sight.
  • Attack rolls against the creature have advantage, and the creature's attack rolls have disadvantage.

Supporting Sage Advice link containing a set of tweets from Jeremy Crawford.

\$\endgroup\$
12
\$\begingroup\$

It doesn't imply anything.

It's specifically stated that you must be able to see the creature in order to target it.

If you can't see the creature, whether that creature is yourself or someone else, then they're not a valid target for the spell.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I'm mostly wondering if there is a rule in the PHB that I might have missed, one that would specify if you'd be able to target yourself regardless of this restriction. I take it this isn't the case? \$\endgroup\$ – Squall55 Aug 4 '17 at 1:08
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I agree with your answer, and so does Jeremy Crawford: twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/859555831808892928 \$\endgroup\$ – J. A. Streich Aug 4 '17 at 1:51

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.