5
\$\begingroup\$

Does a grease spell affect where the caster is standing, or the caster in general when cast on itself? I've read of some rules about AOE spells not affecting the point of origin or something... but would like to know RAW

\$\endgroup\$
22
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, a Grease spell targeted so that the caster is included in its AoE will affect the target. Grease affects every creature within an area, making no exception for its caster:

When the grease appears, each creature standing in its area must succeed on a Dexterity saving throw or fall prone.

Spells with an AoE of cube, cone, or line do not affect their point of origin, but Grease is not any of those.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 7
    \$\begingroup\$ Any spell that does not specifically says "the caster is unaffected" or something to that effect will do its baddies on the caster, if he is inside the effect. \$\endgroup\$ – Mindwin Aug 6 '17 at 10:53
  • 7
    \$\begingroup\$ And affect allies too, careful with that fireball please. \$\endgroup\$ – Matthieu M. Aug 6 '17 at 11:19

protected by Community Mar 19 at 15:54

Thank you for your interest in this question. Because it has attracted low-quality or spam answers that had to be removed, posting an answer now requires 10 reputation on this site (the association bonus does not count).

Would you like to answer one of these unanswered questions instead?

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.