4
\$\begingroup\$

In DnD 3.0 (before the 3.5 revision), how exactly does charging on a mount work? I've checked the PHB and the DMG, but neither has a lot of detail.

Specifically, who (mount or rider) takes what kind of action? Can the mount also attack? If both have pounce, can either make additional attacks?

I have found answers for various other editions, but not for 3.0.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ @doppelgreener Huh. I didn't even realize we had mount tags, let alone two of them. Thanks for adding those. \$\endgroup\$ – fectin Aug 7 '17 at 16:22
  • \$\begingroup\$ Mounted combat doesn't even work in Pathfinder, which had both 3e and 3.5e to build on, so it might just not work in 3e either. (I've done a lot of reading on 3.5e mounted combat—even written answers about it like here and here—, but I'm pretty sure that even the game's authors don't fully understand it.) \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Aug 7 '17 at 16:26
  • \$\begingroup\$ Relevant. I believe, it works mostly the same way back in 3.0. Also see coments under GoBLiN's answer. \$\endgroup\$ – annoying imp Aug 7 '17 at 18:45
2
\$\begingroup\$

From my 3e books (not 3.5):

In the description of the lance it gives some information (PHB p101)

Lance, Heavy or Light: a lance deals double damage when used from the back of a charging mount. A heavy lance has reach. You can strike opponents 10 feet away with it, but you can't use it against an adjacent foes.

In Charge (PHB p124) this is also mentioned, which would indicate that the +2/-2 modifiers of a charge stand as well.

I see no mention of the mount getting an attack, but in the Monster Manual (p196) description of a Heavy Warhorse:

These animals are similar to heavy horses but are trained and bred for strength and aggression. A heavy warhorse can fight while carrying a rider, but the rider cannot also attack unless he or she succeeds at a Ride check (DC 10).

Hooves do 1d6+4, and a bite does 1d4+2. Charging allows for a single attack, so the horse should get one or the other. The hooves seems natural, as a trample attack. (Edit, I assumed warhorse, but would think the single attack on a charge would count for other type mounts; so Battlecat would get a claw, a claw, or a bite)

So, provided the rider can pass a DC 10 Ride check, both get an attack.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Great catch on the MM description. I'll let this sit for a day or two in case someone has a correction, but it looks right to me. Thanks! \$\endgroup\$ – fectin Nov 2 '17 at 2:39
  • \$\begingroup\$ I do love 3e (never went to 3.5 or PF), but man, did you have to search for some things. :-) \$\endgroup\$ – user40124 Nov 2 '17 at 2:41

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.