3
\$\begingroup\$

Empowered Shot [Psionic]

Prerequisites: Point-Blank Shot.

Benefit: As long as you maintain psionic focus, the range of your ranged weapons doubles. You may expend your touch attack)[sic] to ignore any penalties for range increment for that single attack. That attack still has its range doubled as if you were maintaining psionic focus.

Does expend your touch attack mean you count that single ranged attack at double the range as a touch attack (attack bypasses armor, including shields and natural armor).

Here is how the feat is described in the Psionics Expanded: Advanced Psionics Guide

Empowered Shot [Psionic] You can empower your ranged attacks, sending them farther. Prerequisites: Point-Blank Shot.

Benefit: As long as you maintain psionic focus, the range of your ranged weapons doubles. You may expend your psionic focus as part of a ranged attack (but not ranged touch attack) to ignore any penalties for range increment for that single attack. That attack still has its range doubled as if you were maintaining psionic focus.

So does this mean (example: shuriken 10' range would be now 20') . So does that mean using psionic focus Shuriken can be thrown at it maximum range increment at no penalties some 100'?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ I strongly suspect that there was a typo or other error made when adding this to PFSRD, because of the weird extra parenthesis that appears in the benefit, and because this text basically doesn’t make sense. I am investigating this theory. Please note the Fell Shot feat, however, which does make your ranged attack a touch attack (i.e. ignores armor and shields). \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Aug 8 '17 at 20:21
  • \$\begingroup\$ Yeah looks like "psionic focus as part of a ranged attack (but not ranged " just got accidentally deleted/omitted. \$\endgroup\$ – mxyzplk says reinstate Monica Aug 8 '17 at 20:33
  • \$\begingroup\$ Added feat as described in the Psionics Expanded: Advanced Psionics Guide. So does this mean (example: shuriken 10' range would be now 20') . So does that mean using psionic focus Shuriken can be thrown at it maximum range increment at no penalties some 100'? \$\endgroup\$ – Jhyarelle Silver Aug 8 '17 at 20:39
4
\$\begingroup\$

The Advanced Psionics Guide version of the feat is correct; ignore the SRD version. Looks like somebody accidentally a few words. If you are interested in having your ranged attacks count as touch attacks, and ignore armor and shields, see the Fell Shot feat.

So does this mean (example: shuriken 10' range would be now 20') . So does that mean using psionic focus Shuriken can be thrown at it maximum range increment at no penalties some 100'?

Yes, that’s exactly what it means.

  • The shuriken’s range increment is 10 feet, which is doubled to 20 feet due while you have psionic focus thanks to Empowered Shot.

  • The weapons rules add this bit:

    A thrown weapon has a maximum range of five range increments.

    So with Empowered Shot and psionic focus, a shuriken can be thrown at most 100 feet. This would incur a –10 penalty on the attack in most cases, however.

  • Expending your psionic focus allows you to ignore range penalties, so that –10 penalty goes away. Empowered Shot explicitly indicates that the range increments are still doubled for this attack.

  • Note that any subsequent attacks (e.g. during a full attack) do not benefit, so they still take range penalties, and furthermore (assuming you do not have any second psionic focus, e.g. from a Deep Body or Psicrystal Containment feat) your range is no longer doubled, so you could not attack any target beyond 50 feet.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ When the feat says, "As long as you maintain psionic focus, the range of your ranged weapons doubles," why must that mean range increment rather than maximum range? \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Aug 9 '17 at 5:32
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Would that not be because it refers to the range property of a weapon, which define its range increment? \$\endgroup\$ – royalmurder Aug 9 '17 at 11:33
  • \$\begingroup\$ @royalmurder I… don't know how to address directly that negative question, but I get your point. ;-) The description of a weapon's range entry says, "Any attack at more than this distance is penalized for range," so, yeah, that does cover this feat, but that's awfully precise in a game that's usually much sloppier. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Aug 9 '17 at 11:49

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.