8
\$\begingroup\$

So, we have a Tiefling Barbarian in our campaign, who just gained access to Hellish Rebuke as a racial spell. The spell states that you point at a target that has attacked you, and they catch fire.

Typically, you cannot cast spells while enraged, but this is a reaction, and has no "memorized" or "hand sign" components; can this racial spell be cast while raging?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ i think what all these questions are missing is the fact that that tieflings hellish rebuke isn't reallly a spell for them, it's just a racial impulse. \$\endgroup\$ – blade Aug 11 '17 at 17:31
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Well yes, but story-wise, for barbarians raging is also not a circumstance under which you would just merely point at an opponent, even if you thought it would make them catch fire. A barbarian who is raging wants to feel the spray of their blood on his/her face. \$\endgroup\$ – CR Drost Aug 12 '17 at 22:44
28
\$\begingroup\$

The rules are quite clear (emphasis mine):

Rage

[...] If you are able to cast spells, you can't cast them or concentrate on them while raging. [...]

&

Infernal Legacy.

[...] you can cast the hellish rebuke spell [...]

So by the rules, you are not able to cast any spells independent on what kind of action and components they need as long as you are raging.

\$\endgroup\$
24
\$\begingroup\$

Casting Hellish Rebuke when raging is not possible.

If you are able to cast spells, you can't cast them or concentrate on them while raging. (Player's Handbook, page 48, under Rage)

The casting time or source of the spell doesn't have an impact here - a raging barbarian simply can't cast spells at all.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Ah, ninja'd me! \$\endgroup\$ – Jamie Brace Aug 11 '17 at 15:49
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ If it were my t-barb, I'd be tempted to cast it on their corpses after the fight ends and he comes down from the rage. Just because. \$\endgroup\$ – T.E.D. Aug 11 '17 at 20:58
9
\$\begingroup\$

No, they cannot cast the spell

From the Barbarian class feature Rage..

... If you are able to cast spells, you can't cast them or concentrate on them while raging.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.