Assuming that you can use a familiar as a safety-deposit box (because the DM's has ruled so), how would this interact with an magic item that makes an extra-dimensional space?

What happens if you give your familiar a Bag of Holding, Portable Hole, or similar item, and then you dismiss your familiar to its pocket dimension? In particular, such items when put in each other tend to burst and cause problems. Does that happen in this case as well? If not, why not?

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ "What happens if my DM allows a dismissed familiar to take a bag of holding with it to its pocket dimension" is something I don't think can be answered within Good-Subjective per stack rules. I suggest taking this question to a forum, like giantitp.com \$\endgroup\$
    – godskook
    Commented Aug 24, 2017 at 18:51
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ The distinction you're drawing is based on putting (items containing) pocket dimensions within pocket dimensions, but it's not clear why you expect this to make a difference. If you quoted the rules and explained the expected issue it would be clearer, but in that case, see rpg.stackexchange.com/questions/56087/… (which is not a dupe, but does answer this). \$\endgroup\$
    – user17995
    Commented Aug 24, 2017 at 19:02
  • \$\begingroup\$ TuggyNE, I think that the answer to that question has the solution I am looking for. Thank you! However, I do not think this should be marked as a duplicate because the answer found there is only a comment within an answer on a different issue. If that information were put into a proper answer for this question with an explanation from the rules, that could be chosen as the correct answer. \$\endgroup\$
    – Robbie
    Commented Aug 24, 2017 at 19:26
  • \$\begingroup\$ Related: bag of holding in another bag of holding. (Spoiler: the answer is "BOOM.") \$\endgroup\$
    – nitsua60
    Commented Aug 25, 2017 at 19:27

1 Answer 1



The rules for the interaction between a Bag of Holding and a Portable Hole are specific to each other, and don't apply to any other type of planar travel. For example, there is no interaction between a Bag of Holding and a portal created by the Gate spell, or someone transported using Teleportation or Plane Shift.

Thus, there is no reason to think that a familiar's mode of transport would work any differently, so there is no interaction, by RAW.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .