4
\$\begingroup\$

Say that a creature uses a magic wand to cast a spell (e.g. Entangle). If the user is hit, do they need to make a Con saving throw to maintain concentration on the spell?

\$\endgroup\$
13
\$\begingroup\$

Concentration is concentration it doesn't matter if you cast the spell from an item or if you cast the spell from a spell slot.

DMG p141

The spell uses its normal casting time, range, and duration, and the user of the item must concentrate if the spell requires concentration.

PHB p203 indicates the rules on when concentration can be broken which include: taking damage, casting another spell (regardless of source) that requires concentration and being killed or incapacitated.

All this said there is a notable exception. Certain sentient items can actually cast a spell themselves and maintain the concentration freeing the wielder from doing so. Blackrazor is an example of that.

\$\endgroup\$
-2
\$\begingroup\$

For the specific item 'Wand of Entangle,' yes. In general, it depends, as wands are not described as either 'cast from the item,' like a scroll, or 'bypass the casting of a spell,' like a potion.

DMG P141

Some magic items allow the user to cast a spell from the item. The spell is cast at the lowest possible spell level, doesn't expend any of the user's spell slots, and requires no components, unless the item's description says otherwise. The spell uses its normal casting time, range, and duration, and the user of the item must concentrate if the spell requires concentration. Many items, such as potions, bypass the casting of a spell and confer the spell's effects, with their usual duration.

Most but not all wands include in their description "to cast." Those that do not would fall under the bypass catagory.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ I'm not sure what you're trying to say with this answer. You seem to duplicate the other answer, but then provide an opinion at the end that's counter without any support. \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Feb 4 at 16:41
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ I'm a bit confused here, can you explain how wands don't fit under "cast from the item" rulings? That seems the exact category they are under. Moreover, you don't seem to actually answer the question here. \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose Feb 4 at 16:42
  • \$\begingroup\$ DMG 140 "Wand: A magic wand is about 15 inches long and crafted of metal, bone, or wood. It is tipped with metal, crystal, stone or some other material." Wands have no useful definition in their description. Edited to make the answer clear. \$\endgroup\$ – DM Death Feb 4 at 17:11
  • \$\begingroup\$ @DMDeath can you give an example of a wand you claim doesn't count as casting? \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose Feb 4 at 17:16
  • \$\begingroup\$ Also you really need to edit in the actual answer to the question, because right now your answer still doesn't come out and say it. \$\endgroup\$ – Rubiksmoose Feb 4 at 17:22

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.