5
\$\begingroup\$

This is taken from the description of the Staff of the Woodlands (emphasis added by me):

You can use an action to expend 1 or more of the staff's charges to cast one of the following spells from it, using your spell save DC

What does "using your spell save DC" mean?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Hi FoXpoX, and welcome to the site. You've accepted my answer pretty quickly, so I feel like I should make sure you know: if another answer comes along that you feel explains things better or is more useful to you, you have the ability to un-accept mine and accept another. In any case, enjoy the staff and happy gaming! \$\endgroup\$ – nitsua60 Aug 27 '17 at 13:35
8
\$\begingroup\$

From the DMG at "Activating an Item" (p. 141):

A magic item, such as certain staffs, may require you to use your own spellcasting ability when you cast a spell from the item. If you have more than one spellcasting ability you choose which one to use with the item. If you don't have a spellcasting ability... your spellcasting ability modifier is +0, and your proficiency bonus does apply.

(Emphasis mine.)

Thus you calculate your DC as normal: 8 + proficiency bonus + spellcasting ability modifier.

If you don't have a spellcasting ability - and thus have no spellcasting ability modifier - then your spell save DC is just 8 + proficiency bonus + 0. (For the Staff of the Woodlands, which requires attunement by a druid, this is likely only possible for 13th-level Thief rogues, who have the Use Magic Device feature and can thus ignore class requirements on the use of the staff.)

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Since the item in question is Staff of the Woodlands, I think we can assume that the character is a Druid and that the spell save DC is 8 + prof. + WIS. \$\endgroup\$ – wz-billings Aug 27 '17 at 17:13
  • \$\begingroup\$ I've just glanced at the DMG (since other questions claimed proficiency bonus does apply), and indeed it says "your proficiency bonus does apply" (emphasis mine). So I think in fact the DC for non-spellcasters should be 8 + proficiency bonus. \$\endgroup\$ – Vigil Jul 12 '18 at 17:28
  • \$\begingroup\$ @vigil good catch. I'm afk and afb for the weekend-any chance you can edit it in? \$\endgroup\$ – nitsua60 Jul 12 '18 at 22:52
  • \$\begingroup\$ @nitsua60 sure, done :) \$\endgroup\$ – Vigil Jul 13 '18 at 0:09

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.