1
\$\begingroup\$

If I pick up the Psychic Sight feat and manifest Incarnate to gain a permanent Detect Psionics effect, do I also permanently gain the effects of Arcane Sight?

\$\endgroup\$
3
\$\begingroup\$

No.

When you have Psychic Sight, once per day you can expend your psionic focus when manifesting detect psioinics to manifest arcane sight (well, its “psionic equivalent” anyway) as well. At that point, you have two separate effects on you, one detect psionics and the other arcane sight. They are independent of one another, and the arcane sight will last 1 minute/level, even if you stop concentrating on the detect psionics effect. Likewise, while you can manifest incarnate on the detect psionics and cause it to become permanent, the arcane sight effect will still last 1 minute/level. Nothing in the feat description ties the duration of the arcane sight effect to the duration of the detect psionics effect.

On the other hand, arcane sight is a valid target for permanency, so its “psionic equivalent” is presumably a valid target for incarnate. This would presumably cost the same 1,500 XP and require the same 11th level as permanency does for arcane sight. But Mind’s Eye neglects to spell this out, so you’ll have to double-check exactly what “psionic equivalent” really means; that’s not a defined term in the rules.

For that matter, it’s not really clear that this psionic arcane sight is actually being manifested as a psionic power. It just says you “gain” it. If this is, say, a psi-like or supernatural effect, then it won’t be a valid target for incarnate.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ It says the equivalent of a spell. Would that not mean it's being gained as a psionic power effect? \$\endgroup\$ – Cellheim Aug 30 '17 at 21:07
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Cellheim That seems the most reasonable interpretation of the words they used, but the words they used are fundamentally not actually defined anywhere in the rules. I don’t know for sure what “gaining” the “psionic equivalent” of a spell actually means, I can only guess, because those are not the usual or correct terminology for how things get done under the rules. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Aug 30 '17 at 21:15
  • \$\begingroup\$ And a shame it is that they didn't bother to define some of the terms they used. \$\endgroup\$ – nijineko Sep 2 '17 at 20:13

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.