5
\$\begingroup\$

Its a rarely used ability, but spell casters have the ability to cast spells at a lower caster level provided that they still meet a spell's minimum requirements.

When is this choice made for prepared spell casters? Is it when they prepare the spell or as they are casting the spell?

Caster Level

You can cast a spell at a lower caster level than normal, but the caster level you choose must be high enough for you to cast the spell in question, and all level-dependent features must be based on the same caster level.

\$\endgroup\$
8
\$\begingroup\$

A caster probably picks the spell's caster level when the spell comes into effect

Casting Time says, "You make all pertinent decisions about a spell (range, target, area, effect, version, and so forth) when the spell comes into effect." Absent rules to the contrary, this GM has always assumed picking the spell's caster level is also a "pertinent decision."

\$\endgroup\$

protected by Community Apr 4 at 18:02

Thank you for your interest in this question. Because it has attracted low-quality or spam answers that had to be removed, posting an answer now requires 10 reputation on this site (the association bonus does not count).

Would you like to answer one of these unanswered questions instead?

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.