10
\$\begingroup\$

In Adventurer's League, you can use the Core PHB and one additional source to create your character. This is clearly stated applying to races and sub-classes (so you can't have a Purple Dragon Knight Goliath, because two separate books), but does it apply to Spells?

Specifically, If I build a High Elf Fighter, and I choose Green Flame Blade as my High Elf cantrip, am I locked into using Sword Coast Adventurer's Guide as my single additional source?

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Don't change my words. It's rude. It offends me. If I misspell a word, fine, fix a typo, fix an incorrect homophone (their, there, they're). Don't change my speech patterns, don't change my question, don't change my content, don't change my communications. It's rude. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Sep 10, 2017 at 3:55
  • 32
    \$\begingroup\$ Please see rpg.meta.stackexchange.com/q/1346/23970 for why the title edit is indicated. It's not exactly the same situation, but the reasoning's the same. It's also not clear who you're talking to up there ^^, but please remember that by Terms of Service you've irrevocably licensed what you wrote to SE: if the notion of others editing what you write offends you this may be a poor fit. \$\endgroup\$
    – nitsua60
    Commented Sep 10, 2017 at 4:00
  • 7
    \$\begingroup\$ A title of the form "In (tag), (question title)" is specifically a form to avoid per our help documents. This is a change you'll just have to live with. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Sep 10, 2017 at 19:50

1 Answer 1

29
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, with some exceptions.

The AL FAQ v. 7.1 says it all:

Which Spells Can I Learn?

Spells are a class option; any new spells learned by advancing in a class or by feats are subject to PHB+1.

Characters that can prepare spells from a spellbook may copy spells even if those spells aren’t normally found in your character’s PHB+1.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ You can get the "season 7" version from dmsguild.com/product/208178/DD-Adventurers-League-Players-Pack — this (as of this comment) includes FAQ v7.1. \$\endgroup\$
    – mattdm
    Commented Sep 10, 2017 at 15:48
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ The DM's Guild always seems to be the better place to get up-to-date DDAL documentation than any WotC page. I suspect the DDAL admins can update DM's Guild directly, while they need to wait on some "web guy" to update the WotC page. \$\endgroup\$
    – T.J.L.
    Commented Sep 11, 2017 at 13:49

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .