10
\$\begingroup\$

In Adventurer's League, you can use the Core PHB and one additional source to create your character. This is clearly stated applying to races and sub-classes (so you can't have a Purple Dragon Knight Goliath, because two separate books), but does it apply to Spells?

Specifically, If I build a High Elf Fighter, and I choose Green Flame Blade as my High Elf cantrip, am I locked into using Sword Coast Adventurer's Guide as my single additional source?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Don't change my words. It's rude. It offends me. If I misspell a word, fine, fix a typo, fix an incorrect homophone (their, there, they're). Don't change my speech patterns, don't change my question, don't change my content, don't change my communications. It's rude. \$\endgroup\$ – Tiwaz Tyrsfist Sep 10 '17 at 3:55
  • 32
    \$\begingroup\$ Please see rpg.meta.stackexchange.com/q/1346/23970 for why the title edit is indicated. It's not exactly the same situation, but the reasoning's the same. It's also not clear who you're talking to up there ^^, but please remember that by Terms of Service you've irrevocably licensed what you wrote to SE: if the notion of others editing what you write offends you this may be a poor fit. \$\endgroup\$ – nitsua60 Sep 10 '17 at 4:00
  • 7
    \$\begingroup\$ A title of the form "In (tag), (question title)" is specifically a form to avoid per our help documents. This is a change you'll just have to live with. \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Sep 10 '17 at 19:50
29
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, with some exceptions.

The AL FAQ v. 7.1 says it all:

Which Spells Can I Learn?

Spells are a class option; any new spells learned by advancing in a class or by feats are subject to PHB+1.

Characters that can prepare spells from a spellbook may copy spells even if those spells aren’t normally found in your character’s PHB+1.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ You can get the "season 7" version from dmsguild.com/product/208178/DD-Adventurers-League-Players-Pack — this (as of this comment) includes FAQ v7.1. \$\endgroup\$ – mattdm Sep 10 '17 at 15:48
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ The DM's Guild always seems to be the better place to get up-to-date DDAL documentation than any WotC page. I suspect the DDAL admins can update DM's Guild directly, while they need to wait on some "web guy" to update the WotC page. \$\endgroup\$ – T.J.L. Sep 11 '17 at 13:49

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.