15
\$\begingroup\$

Firbolgs have the Firbolg Magic trait (VGtM, p. 107):

You can cast detect magic and disguise self with this trait, using Wisdom as your spell casting ability for them. Once you cast either spell, you can't cast it again with this trait until you finish a short or long rest.

Does Firbolg Magic have one use that's expended when either spell is cast? Or does it have two uses, where each spell can be cast once?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I didn't know the Fir Bolg had made it into RPGs. Cool. \$\endgroup\$ – TRiG Sep 10 '17 at 11:41
27
\$\begingroup\$

They can cast each spell once per day, so two spells in total. The trick is in the wording:

Once you cast either spell, you can't cast it again with this trait until you finish a short or long rest.

Since "either" means "The one or the other" and "it" means "the one previously mentioned" the ability essentially reads:

Once you cast one of these spells, you can't cast that spell again with this trait until you finish a short or long rest.

(But honestly, the wording on this trait is rather confusing to me as well. Might be one these cases where my 'not a native English speaker' shines through.)

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ The wording was probably skirting the possible interpretation that you could not cast the spell from other sources (firbolgs mages would suck). \$\endgroup\$ – Mindwin Sep 10 '17 at 17:00
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ I think the "with this trait" part guards against that quite effectively, but that might have been the reason. \$\endgroup\$ – Erik Sep 10 '17 at 19:02

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.