8
\$\begingroup\$

I am just starting to play 2nd Edition Runequest after 20 years since I played it last time, and it's all coming back to me. The question I cannot seem to find an answer to is about Battle Magic spells. Can you cast more than 1 spell in a 12 strike rank round if you are quick enough?

For example, if my Dex Strike Rank is 2 and my spell is a 2 point Bladesharp spell and the focus for my Bladesharp is on the blade of my sword (Ready) I believe it will happen at strike Rank 3 Dex SR + POW -1 (My Focus is ready in my hand). This then leaves me 9 more strike ranks to cast more battle magic?

So I could in theory cast 4 spells in a 12 strike rank round if they were all no higher than 2 Points of Power and the focus for each was ready.

Does anyone know if this is correct, or have a missed an important paragraph in the rules?

\$\endgroup\$
6
\$\begingroup\$

Only one spell can be cast per melee round

My copy of Runequest (1980) has on its inside front and back covers a list of Second Edition Runequest Clarifications, Corrections, and Additions. To be clear, this isn't something I printed and shoved into my own book, but, instead, actual—for lack of a better term—errata from the game's publisher that's printed straight onto the book's covers. (Good on the publisher for being responsible and keeping costs down, I guess? I can only imagine the book's price were layout to've been done again in 1980 so as to incorporate this errata into the main text.)

Anyway, in this errata under the heading Chapter Five under the subheading Page 33 there's this:

Other Properties of Spells—6. Only one spell may be cast in one melee round unless the caster is under the influence of the Rune magic spell, Multispell. See Chapter Seven [for the Multispell spells' descriptions which start on page 62].

So it appears that you weren't alone in asking this question.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Fantastic Thanks for the response, I missed that small print :-) \$\endgroup\$ – user7920 Sep 13 '17 at 19:55

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.