5
\$\begingroup\$

In Pathfinder, can you use a Ring of Dimension Door in conjunction with the Dimensional Dervish feat tree? I'd like to know if I'd get more use (and value) out of such a ring than a Ring of Wizardry IV.

That's the specific example I'm thinking of, but a general rule would also be appreciated.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ Can a link be provided to the ring of dimension door? \$\endgroup\$ Sep 16, 2017 at 0:58

2 Answers 2

4
\$\begingroup\$

Without a house rule, no, you cannot combine them. Dimensional Dervish and all of the other feats in the tree have the requirement -

Prerequisites: Ability to use the abundant step class feature or cast dimension door

Activating an item is generally not the same thing as casting a spell, and will not allow you to fulfill that prerequisite. And, even if you could fill the requirement and learn the feat, the feats all work from either using abundant step or casting dimension door.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I can cast the spell all right, just needed to know if getting it out of an item worked the same way. \$\endgroup\$ Sep 16, 2017 at 4:30
0
\$\begingroup\$

A Ring of Dimension Door wouldn't work(RAW), but a (Greater, Minor) Ring of Spell Storing with Dimension Door(s) in it would.

Activating a magic item is not 'casting' per this (emphasis added) line from Dimensional Dervish

You can take a full-attack action, activating abundant step or casting dimension door as a swift action.

If you want to have more uses per day than you have spell slots/Ki for Abundant Step, you could use a Ring of Spell Storing which indicates

A ring of spell storing contains up to 5 levels of spells (either divine or arcane, or even a mix of both spell types) that the wearer can cast...

That all said, it's worth petitioning the GM for; there is little chance of it breaking a game and could go a long way toward fulfilling certain character concept goals.

Of course neither item qualifies you for the feat(s), but that doesn't seem to be what your question is referring to.

\$\endgroup\$
8
  • \$\begingroup\$ There's also the ring of Wizardry IV, which doubles level 4 spell slots. Actually the combo I have in mind could potentially break the game, I'm trying to ride the bleeding edge between superlative optimisation and total ruination. \$\endgroup\$ Sep 26, 2017 at 15:30
  • \$\begingroup\$ @CaptainSkylock I find it hard to believe that Dimensional Dervish could break your game... it's a powerful ability for sure, but there are ways to counter it. Having a handful more uses of it per day with a price-tag in the tens of thousands is hardly more powerful than any other build with a way to full attack and move (Unch Monk, Beast Totem Barbarian, etc) \$\endgroup\$ Sep 26, 2017 at 23:03
  • \$\begingroup\$ Monks and Barbarians don't get 11d6 sneak attack, solo flanking, adaptable Bane weapon, the ability to provoke their own AoOs during their own full attack (by crit-fishing), while casting Disintegrate at the same time. \$\endgroup\$ Sep 27, 2017 at 1:30
  • \$\begingroup\$ I'd be interested to hear how you're using Rogue, Inquisitor, AND 6th level arcane spells all in one action, let alone on one character. Also, Seize the Moment doesn't trigger from yourself. It doesn't matter if you're flanking 'with yourself', you're still not another ally. Otherwise it would trigger from your own criticals without Dimensional Dervish (it technically does, RAW, since you count as your own Ally... GL convincing the GM of that) \$\endgroup\$ Sep 27, 2017 at 2:01
  • \$\begingroup\$ Spiderhawk Archetype for Magus (sneak attack, spell combat, arcane spells), using Outflank rather than Seize the Moment, and taking Bane as an Arcane Pool ability. Paizo ruling says 'You count as your own ally unless otherwise stated or if doing so would make no sense or be impossible. Thus, “your allies” almost always means the same as “you and your allies.' Using an ability that explicitly states you are flanking with yourself is surely such an occasion. \$\endgroup\$ Sep 27, 2017 at 5:34

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .