14
\$\begingroup\$

As a warlock you can take the Raven Queen as your patron. The Sentinel Raven you get can do a lot of things but what caught my attention is the following :

While perched on your shoulder, the raven can’t be targeted by any attack or other harmful effect; only you can cast spells on it; it can’t take damage; and it is incapacitated.

As long as the raven stays on the warlock's shoulder it is incapacitated. It is my understanding that being incapacitated prevents actions from being taken.

Which leaves me wondering, by RAW can the raven leave the warlock's shoulder willingly ?

Would the warlock have to push or throw the raven off their shoulders to end the incapacitated condition?

\$\endgroup\$
19
\$\begingroup\$

The raven can leave of its own volition.

The full text of the incapacitated condition is (PHB 290):

An incapacitated creature can’t take actions or reactions.

Being incapacitated does not forbid a creature from moving (though being stunned or unconscious does). Once the raven moves off of your shoulder, it is not longer incapacitated and can thus act normally.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ So you're essentially trading safe harbor for no actions/reactions. Not a bad deal. \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Sep 22 '17 at 16:30

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.