12
\$\begingroup\$

In DnD 5e, a few enemies have Turn Immunity, which gives them immunity to the class feature, Turn Undead. But, in 5e, does Turn Resistance exist?

I know it exists in 3.5e, but I can not find anything saying it does or does not exist in 5e.

\$\endgroup\$

3 Answers 3

22
\$\begingroup\$

There are several examples of such.

The Death Knight grants itself and nearby undead advantage against effects that would turn undead, though the ability is called Marshal Undead, not Turn Resistance.

The demilich has as a lair feature a similar ability.

Ghasts have Turning Defiance, which does the same.

Liches, as already mentioned, straight up have Turn Resistance.

Mummy lords have a similar lair feature to demiliches.

There are probably more, but overall, resistance to turning isn't as uncommon as you might think.

As an extra note, Magic Resistance also applies, thanks to @András for pointing that out.

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • \$\begingroup\$ I see. I am working on a heroic item for a cleric in my adventure, and I am making an ability that is not turn undead but counts as it when enemies are checking for resistances and immunities. \$\endgroup\$
    – The Man
    Sep 22, 2017 at 18:59
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ You should add that Magic Resistance works against turning, so even more undead has resistance than it seems \$\endgroup\$
    – András
    Sep 29, 2017 at 7:03
  • \$\begingroup\$ @András Good catch, I'll add it now. \$\endgroup\$ Sep 29, 2017 at 7:16
7
\$\begingroup\$

It does exist, though the only example in the MM is the lich (p. 202):

Turn Resistance. The lich has advantage on saving throws against any effect that turns undead.

The Alhoon in Volo's guide (p. 172) also has this feature.

\$\endgroup\$
0
\$\begingroup\$

Possibly of relevance: Tales From The Yawning Portal includes an "Amulet of Protection From Turning" in one adventure. ("...you have advantage on saving throws against effects that turn undead. If you fail a saving throw against such an effect, you can choose to suceed again... three times... recharge daily at dawn.")

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .