If I use Hex (PHB p251) on a creature and next turn I use, say Eldritch Blast as my action and Spiritual Weapon (PHB p278) as my bonus, would Spiritual Weapon also get hex's extra damage? I'm a bit confused by the wording of what's 'me' and what's 'mine'.


1 Answer 1



From hex:

Until the spell ends, you deal an extra 1d6 necrotic damage to the target whenever you hit it with an attack.

From spiritual weapon:

When you cast the spell, you can make a melee spell attack against a creature within 5 feet of the weapon.

You are considered to be making the attack when you attack with spiritual weapon; you deal an extra 1d6 damage when you hit a target with an attack. Therefore, you deal that extra damage when you hit your target, whether with eldritch blast or spiritual weapon.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Or a punch to the face. \$\endgroup\$
    – Exal
    Sep 24, 2017 at 9:27
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ One fun fact, is that because the wording of Hex does not state a limit on attacks, Hex scales with EB damage, because differently from most other cantrips, EB rolls multiple times for attack. \$\endgroup\$ Sep 24, 2017 at 16:21

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .