2
\$\begingroup\$

We just finished the Rise of Tiamat Hardcover and we got the Mask of the Dragon Queen, but without the Black Dragon Mask since one of our party members has it.

Can we disassemble the Mask of the Dragon Queen so at least most of us has a mask each?

Worst case scenario is we give it to the one who has the Black Dragon Mask so that he can complete it.

\$\endgroup\$
0
6
\$\begingroup\$

Rules-As-Written

There are no rules in Rise of Tiamat (or any other source) for how to put the mask together or how to take it apart. The description only indicates what happens if you do. Silly, perhaps, but that's what's written.

In an non-Adventurers League game, your GM can allow or disallow breaking up the mask as he likes.

Adventurers League Considerations

For Adventurers League characters prior to Season 8, expect table variation. While WoTC has released stats for the individual masks, only the Black Dragon Mask shows up in a "Treasure" entry, which means it's the only lootable one in RoT. For AL purposes a table DM would be entirely correct in a belief that the individual masks do not exist and are not lootable.

When Season 8 starts at the end of August 2018, the Mask of the Dragon Queen is on the problematic items list. If the character has finished Rise of Tiamat with a mask, it is converted to Treasure Points. If they're still in the adventure, it becomes a story item that will be gone at the end of the adventure.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ And remember that AL rules do not need to make sense. They exist to allow a common ground for several tables with random people that would otherwise be unmixable (either the people or the tables, your pick). For home play, following AL rules might be silly. A crafty DM could extrapolate the other masks from the black one. \$\endgroup\$ – Mindwin Oct 9 '17 at 17:00

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.