4
\$\begingroup\$

A normal Trait roll involves only 2 dice for a Wild Card, and thus the rule for Critical Failures is described as:

snake-eyes (double 1s) on one of these rolls is a critical failure (SW Deluxe 63)

But there are circumstances where you roll multiple Trait die with only one Wild Die (full-auto fire, wild swing, etc.). Can these end up as a Critical Fail?

Possible options I came up with:

  • No CF (seems RAW, but not RAI and no fun either)
  • CF only on full-1 rolls (not really logical)
  • CF if WD+1 rolls 1, affects the whole action
  • CF if WD+1 rolls 1, affects only 1 shot/swing/...

Is there a mention of this in any official material?

\$\endgroup\$
3
\$\begingroup\$

Yes.

It is entirely possible to roll multiple Critical Fails in these circumstances. If you roll a 1 on the Wild Die, then each 1 you roll on the Skill Dice counts as an individual Critical Fail.

See here for official confirmation of this.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ He made that post over a decade ago. Has it not shown up in any book or errata? \$\endgroup\$ – Szega Sep 27 '17 at 14:11
  • \$\begingroup\$ That was just the first example I found. It's something that comes up reasonably regularly on the forums and Google+. I'm not aware of any changes to the books to reflect it though. \$\endgroup\$ – Wibbs Sep 27 '17 at 14:18

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.