So let's picture ourselves a pretty drow priestess of Lolth, CLR3 which would make her a CR4 creature.

Add to her entourage Cuddles, an Owlbear Skeleton, CR 2 according to the MM and "Useless lot", three former priestess apprentices, now Drow skeletons (we'll use the HUMAN skeleton for ease of use) CR 1/3 each all controlled with rebuke.

should i consider it a CR 4 or up the gains for a CR 5-6 encounter?

if she also raised/created undead and controlled them (assuming she was of a higher level) prior to meeting the group, would THAT change the CR?

Bottom line question: Would a lonely cleric, a cleric of the same level with rebuked undead and a cleric of the same level with both rebuked and created undead have the same CR?

  • \$\begingroup\$ I think this may be a duplicate of this question, although there may be enough of a misunderstanding between Challenge Rating (which is for individual creatures) and Encounter Level (which is for groups of creatures) to make a new answer. Would such an answer be valuable, or should I close this question? \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Sep 27 '17 at 18:08
  • \$\begingroup\$ well, that question is quite instructive on my issue, but raises some other concerns on my part.... what if the cleric in the group would have a boatload of undeads, should they reduce the XP the group receive? its still only a class ability and a spell... i'm not sure the 200-ish gold they pay would prevent them from losing XP, but then again, they paid for that ability.... i'm in an ambiguous gray zone... \$\endgroup\$ – Mouhgouda Sep 27 '17 at 18:15
  • \$\begingroup\$ I think you've switched seats. This question is from the DM's angle — the DM being the one who cares about Challenge Rating —, and that comment's from the player-character angle — Do the PCs' hangers-on share an encounter's XP? Since you've two upvotes for this question as it stands, if the PC angle's now your concern, I recommend posing a new question. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Sep 27 '17 at 18:22
  • \$\begingroup\$ oh, i didn't imply this question was a player's angle, the other question got me wondering and i went off track... sorry.... i'll go think out loud somewhere else... \$\endgroup\$ – Mouhgouda Sep 27 '17 at 18:56
  • \$\begingroup\$ but then again... the result should be the same for both sides of the GM's screen, shouldn't it? \$\endgroup\$ – Mouhgouda Sep 27 '17 at 18:58