What would happen to the PCs who

enter one of the elemental portals, with one of them wielding the elemental weapon, causing it to close when it touches? Are the characters trapped on the elemental plane, where they must try to find another portal to escape, or are they forced back to the material plane, such as opposite what happens to the elemental princes when their portal closes.

Which plane do they end up on?

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Typing >! at the start of a line will allow you to make a spoiler tag. I have added them for you here, but if you would like to re-word the question to allow it to have part in spoilers, and part not, you are more than welcome to. \$\endgroup\$ – Shem Oct 2 '17 at 18:25
  • \$\begingroup\$ So, the PC is wielding the elemental weapon, but walking backwards through the portal so that the weapon touches it once they're already mostly through? Or holding it behind their back as they cross the threshhold? \$\endgroup\$ – GMJoe Oct 2 '17 at 20:53
  • \$\begingroup\$ Or the PC is following other PCs in and being third in line, pop, two people are now on the other side \$\endgroup\$ – James Oct 2 '17 at 21:09

They would be stuck in the elemental plane till they could find another way out.

Ask yourself, "If you walk through a door then some one closes it behind you, which side of the door are you on?"

A portal is the same concept except instead of being a door between 2 rooms, its a door between 2 planes. It would be different if it was a spell that projected you to the elemental planes. In that case your self isn't actually in the elemental plane, and if the spell got cut off the projection would disappear and you would wake up at your original location. This would be similar to what happens when the connection gets lost on a video call.

| improve this answer | |
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ But making the entire answer a single spoiler block is too boring. I'm going to leave some non-key portions out, or what was already spoiled by, like, the q title. @KorvinStarmast \$\endgroup\$ – Mindwin Oct 2 '17 at 21:05
  • \$\begingroup\$ I'm going to support this answer for one very good reason- it is exactly how I ruled it when I finished DMing this campaign last month. \$\endgroup\$ – TheVagrantDog Oct 2 '17 at 21:08
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Mindwin good call \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast Oct 2 '17 at 23:18

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.