0
\$\begingroup\$

Can you use the power fusion and then use it again on another willing target?

From the SRD:

You and another willing, corporeal, living creature of the same or smaller size fuse into one being.

I can't even understand how you could think this cannot be chained. The person arguing this said the power says "you and one willing creature" and seems to be presupposing it says "you and one willing creature only"

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ It's polite to tell folks when you've crossposted elsewhere a question—like here. \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Oct 5 '17 at 10:24
0
\$\begingroup\$

Yes. From the SRD:

You and another willing, corporeal, living creature of the same or smaller size fuse into one being. As the manifester, you control the actions of the fused being.

The manifester can continue to act, and retains their identity as "You".

The fused being knows all the powers you and the other creature know, has the sum of your and the other creature’s power points

You can manifest powers as normal with some augmentations, including this one.

There is no text forbidding double-fusion, whereas there is for stacking with fission:

You cannot use fission on a fused being.

Since all effects of fusion can be applied as-is to a manifester that is already fused, and since the manifester is rather different from when they first manifested fusion, double-fusion would seem to be a good candidate for exceptions to same-effect cancelling:

The same spell can sometimes produce varying effects if applied to the same recipient more than once. Usually the last spell in the series trumps the others. None of the previous spells are actually removed or dispelled, but their effects become irrelevant while the final spell in the series lasts.

It wouldn't make sense to avoid "removing" a previous manifestation of fusion if the effects are cancelled out — where would the previously merged creature go?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Like multiple polymorph spells applied to the same creature, would the last fusion render any earlier fusions irrelevant (as per Same Effect with Differing Results on PH 72)? \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Oct 5 '17 at 10:32
  • \$\begingroup\$ @HeyICanChan: I don't think so, and it wouldn't seem to make much sense to have it do so. That rule is not phrased absolutely, so this is one of the better exception cases for it. \$\endgroup\$ – user17995 Oct 5 '17 at 14:49
  • \$\begingroup\$ I dunno. It seems like only the last one counts prevents a lot of shenanigans possible with the power. That, and the spell doesn't say that its effects are cumulative with subsequent uses. I think the answer's sound, but I also think there's room enough for the DM to rule the other way. (I also don't like the comment from the asker that an only is necessary to distinguish between effects that can only occur once and those that can occur multiple times—that rubs me wrong as writer and rules-reader.) \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Oct 5 '17 at 15:28
  • \$\begingroup\$ @HeyICanChan: I agree that the asker's reasoning is suspect. I think my last paragraph here could use some polishing to clarify more, but right now I can't think how to do that. \$\endgroup\$ – user17995 Oct 5 '17 at 15:29
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @godskook: My argument does not depend primarily on it being theoretically possible to stack, but on it being possible to stack and difficult to imagine how a non-stacking interpretation would function. \$\endgroup\$ – user17995 Oct 6 '17 at 1:12

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.