After being destroyed, a lich reforms in 1d10 days with all its hit points. When it reforms, must it then complete a long rest to recover the spell slots it likely expended to prevent it's initial destruction?

As described in this answer, the flameskull only regains its hit points, not expended spells. However, the flameskull in that answer reforms after 1 hour, which is not long enough to complete a long rest.

I've tagged this with 5e, but if there is no information within those books, I would be interested in answers from other editions.

  • \$\begingroup\$ I misunderstood the title and started trying to look up alignment changes. \$\endgroup\$ – Frezak Oct 6 '17 at 23:03
  • \$\begingroup\$ The concept of a "long rest" didn't exist before Fourth edition. Also, in earlier editions, there were multiple kinds of spellcaster, and each had a slightly different method of preparing spells, regaining spell slots, or recharging their power points, and they would retain those different methods upon becoming liches. So, it's a bit tricky to answer this question for earlier editions. \$\endgroup\$ – GMJoe Oct 7 '17 at 2:37

It works the same as any other effect that returns a creature to life (though a lich, being undead, isn't technically living, it's the same concept). Being dead doesn't count as a long rest, so you would then need to take a long rest before regaining spell slots. If, as the DM, you want to count the last 8 hours of the 1d10 days the lich spent regenerating as a long rest, you certainly can of course.

  • 9
    \$\begingroup\$ So, fun fact: nowhere does it say in the Monster Manual that monsters need a long rest to recover spell slots. How long until they recover them is always a DM call. \$\endgroup\$ – TheVagrantDog Oct 6 '17 at 15:02
  • \$\begingroup\$ I support what @TheVagrantDog mentioned. It is the DM's call if the lick[sic] comes back at full power. I'd rule in such a way. After all, it was just rejuvenating in its philactery, never really destroyed or dead. \$\endgroup\$ – Mindwin Oct 7 '17 at 1:53

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.