Once upon a time, I made a rules error: I believed that the Immediate Magic alternate Wizard class feature (PHB2 p. 68) was usable (3+int bonus) times/day. I was so certain of this that I didn't even bother looking up the rule; I just knew it was (3+int bonus)/day. However, reading the source book itself, the rule is actually:

...you can use this spell-like ability a number of times per day equal to your Intelligence bonus (minimum 1).

When I reported this error to my DM at the time, he replied that he had also thought it was (3+int bonus)/day, and was surprised to find we were both wrong.

Today, reading over old questions, I noticed two answers in which local 3.5 guru KRyan also thought Immediate Magic was usable (3+int bonus)/day. Both of these answers were posted before I knew StackExchange was a thing; I am unlikely to have inherited the error from reading KRyan's posts.

Once is happenstance. Twice is coincidence. Three times is enemy action. Where did we all pick up this misconception?

Did a previous printing of the PHB2 state a different number of uses/day for this ability? Or did some famous source (a well-known guide that we all would have read, for instance) make this error, and we all inherited it from there?

  • \$\begingroup\$ Whoa. I am right there with you, I was just sure it was (3+Int)/day. But my PHB2 (a first printing I think) also says Int/day. \$\endgroup\$
    – KRyan
    Commented Oct 11, 2017 at 21:46

1 Answer 1


Immediate magic's always been usable a number of times per day equal to the possessor's Intelligence modifier

So far as I'm aware, the May 2006 printing is the sole printing of the Player's Handbook II. (Both the book's Amazon entry and its Wikipedia entry agree on this; also, my own print version is a first (only) edition, too.) The Wizards of the Coast Web site mentions immediate magic in but one article—the Eberron Expanded column titled, appropriately enough, "Payer's Handbook II". The Excerpts column "Player's Handbook II Excerpt" omits immediate magic. None of the three Player's Handbook II Web enhancements deal with immediate magic. Were you led astray by an official source, I don't know what it is.

I think it's probably the special ability immediate magic's similarity to the cleric's special ability turn or rebuke undead—that's usable 3/day plus a number of times per day equal to the cleric's Charisma modifier—that might've led to the confusion, but there's no way to be sure.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .