Once upon a time, I made a rules error: I believed that the Immediate Magic alternate Wizard class feature (PHB2 p. 68) was usable (3+int bonus) times/day. I was so certain of this that I didn't even bother looking up the rule; I just knew it was (3+int bonus)/day. However, reading the source book itself, the rule is actually:
...you can use this spell-like ability a number of times per day equal to your Intelligence bonus (minimum 1).
When I reported this error to my DM at the time, he replied that he had also thought it was (3+int bonus)/day, and was surprised to find we were both wrong.
Today, reading over old questions, I noticed two answers in which local 3.5 guru KRyan also thought Immediate Magic was usable (3+int bonus)/day. Both of these answers were posted before I knew StackExchange was a thing; I am unlikely to have inherited the error from reading KRyan's posts.
Once is happenstance. Twice is coincidence. Three times is enemy action. Where did we all pick up this misconception?
Did a previous printing of the PHB2 state a different number of uses/day for this ability? Or did some famous source (a well-known guide that we all would have read, for instance) make this error, and we all inherited it from there?