Similar to Counterspell & Dispel Magic vs Wild Magic Surge, but more specific.
According to the most-upvoted answer to the linked question above, a Wild Magic Surge can be countered if the effect is actually the casting of a spell. Is there anything in the rules that prevents a sorcerer from countering his own Wild Magic Surge spell?
I.e. If I am playing a sorcerer and accidentally cast fireball centered on myself, can I counterspell it and avoid the ensuing tragedy, assuming I have the spell and a slot available?
In the broader sense, I suppose I'm asking if there's anything that prevents a spellcaster from counterspelling their own spell, but this is probably the most likely scenario for wanting to do such a thing.