1
\$\begingroup\$

An 18th level Divination wizard uses his 9th-level slot and wish to cast Simulacrum on himself as an action at the start of combat. Provided he had just started the adventuring day, and hadn't spent any other spell slots or class resources, am I mistaken in assuming that:

  1. aside from the inability to regain hitpoints (through conventional healing)
  2. or to regain spell slots
  3. not to mention the high vulnerability to Dispel Magic,

the wizard can effectively double his spellcasting capacity, slots and all? On the condition that this assumption is correct:

  1. Does the Simulacrum have the wizard's class features, such as Portent?
    (If so, does it roll new Portents or just keep what the wizard already had?)
  2. Does the simulacrum have a 9th level spell slot available, since on was spent by casting wish?
  3. Can the wizard and the simulacrum both cast spells on the same turn, levelled or otherwise, provided they both had the slots for them?
    If so, can the wizard and the simulacrum concentrate on two different spells at once?
  4. Bottom line: does using wish to cast simulacrum double the caster's available spell slots?
\$\endgroup\$

closed as too broad by daze413, kviiri, the dark wanderer, Szega, user17995 Oct 25 '17 at 8:12

Please edit the question to limit it to a specific problem with enough detail to identify an adequate answer. Avoid asking multiple distinct questions at once. See the How to Ask page for help clarifying this question. If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ I see four, maybe only three (if you treat the double spell slots and ability to cast 9th level spell as one) very different questions, here. You might want to split up each question into separate question posts. While it's not a hard and fast rule, we want to make sure that each question gets the attention it deserves. \$\endgroup\$ – daze413 Oct 25 '17 at 6:31
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Also note that you cannot regain a slot over level 5 with arcane recovery. \$\endgroup\$ – Szega Oct 25 '17 at 8:09
  • \$\begingroup\$ The edit was mostly for format, but also to clarify the question slightly. Please review the edit and revise it again in case any meaning was muddied in the edit I made. \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast Oct 25 '17 at 14:51

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.