9
\$\begingroup\$

In an Adventurer's League session, a couple of weeks ago, one of our battles was against a poisonous creature.

My nature score is pretty decent, and my roll was good, so I managed to extract and save some of the poison from the creature.

My question: How does one use such poisons? Is it even possible to use them, or did I just extract the poison to carry it around?

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • \$\begingroup\$ related, curious if you think it's a duplicate: how does crafting poisons work? \$\endgroup\$
    – nitsua60
    Oct 30 '17 at 22:14
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @nitsua60 Ref: duplicate - I'm not actually developing the poison, nor do I have a poisoners kit. This was just an extraction of an existing poison. \$\endgroup\$
    – Sagar
    Oct 31 '17 at 12:16
  • \$\begingroup\$ somewhat related: rpg.stackexchange.com/questions/72617/… \$\endgroup\$
    – Raj
    Feb 7 '20 at 15:14
8
\$\begingroup\$

Ask your DM about the Poison Type

To give him guidance, the DMG covers poison types on pages 257-258. With that information, you'll have the knowledge about usage.

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ what's your take on this AL player having gained valuable goods (the poisons or poison ingredients) that are not under a "Treasure" subheading? (Cf. ALDMG p.4) \$\endgroup\$
    – nitsua60
    Oct 30 '17 at 23:36
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I made an assumption that AL rules allowed this and would still be up to DM. If wrong, I can delete. \$\endgroup\$
    – NautArch
    Oct 30 '17 at 23:44
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ It's a grey area in AL. All treasure, by AL rule, is converted to GP-equivalent and split equally. But this wasn't in a treasure heading, so maybe it's not treasure? But it'd be of value.... I was sincerely asking where you thought harvested component/ingredient fell in AL's treatment of treasure bookkeeping. \$\endgroup\$
    – nitsua60
    Oct 30 '17 at 23:47

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .