0
\$\begingroup\$

Does the extra d6 damage apply to all attacks against the hexed creature (for example, Scorching Ray or Magic Missile) or just one?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Just a note that a magic missile is not an attack, so hex doesn't stack with it (see the answers in the duplicate question) \$\endgroup\$ – kviiri Nov 8 '17 at 14:02
  • \$\begingroup\$ I read the related question. It sheds some light, but it seems strange that a Magic Missile is not an attack and Scorching ray is. In any case it is a IMHO excessive damage multiplier. \$\endgroup\$ – piffy Nov 8 '17 at 14:08
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ See What Counts as an Attack for clarification around why magic missile isn't an attack. Hex is equivalent in power to the ranger's hunter's mark spell. \$\endgroup\$ – Marq Nov 8 '17 at 14:32
  • \$\begingroup\$ @piffy because you don't roll ad d20 to see if you hit or don't. That's why MM isn't. \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast Nov 8 '17 at 17:12
5
\$\begingroup\$

All Attacks Gain an Extra 1d6

Hex

... Until the spell ends, you deal an extra 1d6 necrotic damage to the target whenever you hit it with an attack.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Magic Missle isn't an attack . \$\endgroup\$ – J. A. Streich Nov 8 '17 at 18:58

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.