This question may seem a bit dumb but I only have the sorcerer revised edition (borrowed it from a friend so that i could run my own game) but it doesn't speak of how health work. I tried searching for it over the internet but i couldn't come up with a satisfying answer.

Anyway what I wanted to ask is how do I determine how much health a character has and what are their dodge chances and how does soaking damage work?


2 Answers 2


Sorcerer: Revised Edition is not a complete game, it's a supplement/sourcebook for Mage: The Ascension. You'll need to get a copy of the corresponding edition of MtA to learn how the game mechanics actually work.

  • \$\begingroup\$ I'll try to find a copy but my game is tonight so i really don't have time. \$\endgroup\$ Nov 9, 2017 at 15:48
  • 7
    \$\begingroup\$ @MaikoChikyu If you don't have MtA, you don't have enough information to run a game at all. Experience with other WoD systems can fill in some of the blanks, but if you had that experience, you wouldn't have needed to ask the question to begin with. \$\endgroup\$
    – T.J.L.
    Nov 9, 2017 at 15:50
  • 7
    \$\begingroup\$ @Maiko You'll have to reschedule or play something else. Even if someone explains how health is determined, you're missing a hundred other rules you'll need to run a Mage game. You should postpone running the game, and borrow the main book from your friend instead of Sorcerer to learn the actual game. \$\endgroup\$ Nov 9, 2017 at 16:45
  • 6
    \$\begingroup\$ @MaikoChikyu MtA is a cool game, and Sorcerer provides some interesting variations on it. However, you don't have the core game. In effect, you're asking how to play D&D3E from just Complete Arcane, without a copy of the Player's Handbook. \$\endgroup\$
    – T.J.L.
    Nov 9, 2017 at 18:45
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ While not a direct answer, I agree this should be the first thing the OP really needs to know. So +1 there, but... may I suggest you mention the pages where health and damage are discussed. Perhaps you could also point to the Quickstart Rules (which are free). Oh, and BTW: in the QSR, health is discussed in the "Combat" section (page 10). \$\endgroup\$
    – Roflo
    Nov 24, 2017 at 22:17

In all WoD products, all characters have 7 states of damage, that are all on the character sheets:

  • Bruised
  • Hurt
  • Injured
  • Wounded
  • Mauled
  • Crippled
  • Incapacitated

Technically there's also a 0th and 9th level: Uninjured and Dead. The former is not denoted, the latter is by ripping a character sheet apart.

Sorcerer does not come with full rules but refers to the Mage the Ascension rules. The rules for marking damage 1, combat 2, and the explanation of the health chart 3 are all in that book.

The revised edition Mage Quickstart rules contain a primer on what the health levels are and a rough combat rule breakdown.4 Do note it simplifies characters to one statistic per attribute class and offers 8 health levels.

1 - Mage the Ascension, revised Edition, Stone Mountain (2000), p.129-130.
2 - Mage the Ascension, revised Edition, Stone Mountain (2000), p.236-238.
3 - Mage the Ascension, revised Edition, Stone Mountain (2000), p.245-246.
3 - Mage the Ascension Free Introductory Kit, revised Edition, s.l. (2008), p.19 & 21.

  • \$\begingroup\$ "In all WoD products, all characters have 7 states of damage" All human characters with no effects like Technocratic cybernetic Enhancements that grant additional Health Levels. Non-human creatures (like dogs, elephants, or dragons) might have more or less health levels, and Spirits have an entirely different method for tracking damage. \$\endgroup\$
    – nick012000
    Apr 24 at 21:54

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .