If you have quick draw and combat reflexes, could you threaten squares around you with sheathed weapons?

Quick draw allows you to pull out a weapon as a free action. Combat reflexes allows you to make AOO's when flatfooted during a surprise round. Is it unreasonable to think that together they would allow you to look innocent but catch them off guard with your weapon?


1 Answer 1


By the rules, no

Free actions are still actions, and as such, can only be taken during your turn unless specifically stated (such as with speaking).

I personally think that it's a reasonable houserule to allow it, however. I cannot see it breaking any mechanics in the 1pp Pathfinder game.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .