Under the sunder rules you can destroy things by dealing them damage by using the combat maneuver rules? If you are having a hard time with attack roles, could you switch to CMB checks. Granted this only works on natural weapons.


1 Answer 1


Natural attacks are typically immune to sunder

The combat maneuver sunder says, in part, that a creature "can attempt to sunder an item held or worn by [an] opponent." Natural attacks—"attacks made without a weapon"—are typically neither held nor worn, rendering them immune to the combat maneuver sunder.

Were a creature to grab a foe's somehow-severed limb and start beating his foes with that severed limb only to have one of the creature's foes make a sunder attempt against the severed limb, then the GM would determine the severed limb's hardness and hit points. However, until then, targeting natural attacks with the combat maneuver sunder isn't typically a thing unless specific rules state otherwise (q.v. the hydra).

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Beating my enemies senseless with preserved severed hydra heads is now totally my next character build. \$\endgroup\$ Nov 13, 2017 at 7:14
  • \$\begingroup\$ @thedarkwanderer: I have a DM who gave me a feat called "use your head". "your" is to be understood as "the one you have in your hand". \$\endgroup\$ Nov 13, 2017 at 8:48
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @AnneAunyme The I'm-not-making-it-up 3.5e general feat Heads Up (Dragon Compendium Volume 1 100) allows a creature to employ a no-more-than-1-day-old severed head's gaze attack thrice so the creature can totally Harry Hamlin the kraken at the end of Clash of the Titans (1981). (And, TDW, the feat's benefit explains, "Retrieving the head from a slain creature is a full-round action that provokes an attack of opportunity.") \$\endgroup\$ Nov 13, 2017 at 14:39

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .