The psionic power form of doom states:

This power functions only while you inhabit your base form (for instance, you can’t be metamorphed or polymorphed into another form, though you can use claws of the beast, and bite of the wolf in conjunction with this power for your regular attacks), and while your mind resides within your own body.

Basically my question is, what counts as changing to a different form versus merely making modifications to my base form?

Do the totemist soulmelds that alter your form when bound to a chakra count as no longer residing in your base form, or would it be a situation similar to the claws of the beast allowance?

In a similar vein, would expansion be allowed?

  • \$\begingroup\$ Can you offer an example of such a soulmeld? \$\endgroup\$ Nov 13, 2017 at 20:00
  • \$\begingroup\$ @HeyICanChan The Threefold Mask of the Chimera's totem chakra bind: "Your threefold mask is no longer just a mask—your head branches into the three monstrous heads of a chimera. Three pairs of eyes look out on the world at once, three heads direct your actions, and three sets of savage jaws slaver for prey" \$\endgroup\$
    – Cellheim
    Nov 13, 2017 at 20:19

1 Answer 1


Nothing is going to directly come out and say which it is; form of doom uses non-standard phrasing that basically isn’t really used anywhere else. That includes Magic of Incarnum, and even other psionic powers like expansion.

On the other hand, the example of polymorph or metamorphosis is pretty instructive: those things tell you to change into something else. Meanwhile, claws of the beast and bite of the wolf change something about you, but not the underlying creature. There is still a lot of room for uncertainty in particular corner cases, but I think that soulmelds and expansion are pretty clearly in the claws of the beast camp rather than the metamorphosis camp.

Ultimately: ask your DM, it’s ambiguous enough that you should run it by them, but I would be very surprised if any DM ruled that expansion or soulmelds ran afoul of form of doom.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .