12
\$\begingroup\$

A fighter, once per rest, can use Action Surge to gain an additional action on his turn.

The target of a Haste spell also gains an additional action on his turns (until the spell ends).

If a fighter is Hasted by a fellow mage and then uses his Action Surge, does he gain two additional actions on his turn (for a total of 3 actions, plus the eventual bonus action & reaction) ?

\$\endgroup\$
22
\$\begingroup\$

Does it stack?

Yes. They each add one action. Haste has restrictions on how that action may be used, though Action Surge does not.

Do they multiply?

Neither Haste nor Action Surge says "doubles your actions" or anything to that effect, they both grant an additional action - it's additive, not multiplicative.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ In other words, a creature under the influence of Haste "gains an additional action on each of its turns". Since Action Surge doesn't grant a turn, but an action, it wouldn't trigger an additional action from the spell. \$\endgroup\$ – Meta4ic Nov 15 '17 at 20:47
  • \$\begingroup\$ Relatedly, abilities that do give you an extra turn, like the Thief's Reflexes ability, would multiply the actions gained. So a hasted 17th level thief/ 2nd level fighter with an extra use of action surge from a magic item, for example, could take 6 actions in the first round of a combat. \$\endgroup\$ – the dark wanderer Nov 15 '17 at 21:39
  • \$\begingroup\$ @thedarkwanderer That's not multiplicative. Sure, Thief’s Reflexes gets two turns during the first round, but each turn is resolved independently and on different initiative counts, no less. Plus... I'm unaware of any item that grants extra Action Surges. It's a stretch to call any of this multiplicative. \$\endgroup\$ – T.J.L. Nov 15 '17 at 21:42
  • \$\begingroup\$ Agreed that the extra magic item is a red herring, but I do agree with his basic premise that a Hasted character with Thief's Reflexes would get the haste extra action on both his turns, and with Action Surge as in the example, could start with 5 actions (and 2 bonus actions, and 4 times movement) on his first turn. The Action Surge only gives an extra action, not an extra turn, so the Haste action would not give an extra action for that. \$\endgroup\$ – Phil Boncer Jan 22 '18 at 20:27

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.