2
\$\begingroup\$

If I am proficient with both whips and scorpion whips; am I able to apply anything that benefits specifically whips, such as for instance the feat Whip Mastery, to a scorpion whip? Why or why not?

Please answer this question considering only PFS-legal material.

\$\endgroup\$
6
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, but it's complicated

The Ultimate Equipment Scorpion Whip says, in part:

If you are proficient with both the scorpion whip and whip, you can use a scorpion whip in either the normal way (as a light performance weapon) or as a whip. When you use a scorpion whip as a whip, it is equivalent to a whip, but deals lethal damage and can harm creatures regardless of their armor bonus.

Thus, the whip from Ultimate Equipment is equivalent to a whip (when used a certain way) and that means you can use stuff that requires a whip with it. The one in Adventurer's Armory, however, is entirely its own weapon, the only connection with whips being if you gain proficiciency with a whip you have it in scorpion whips as well. This mean's it's a whip sometimes (since it is, you know, a whip) but not when a mechanic is specifically talking about the individual weapon called 'whip'. Whip Mastery's 'normal' line makes it clear it's talking about the whip weapon, not whip-like weapons in general.

Pathfinder Society used to allow the Ulitimate Equipment scorpion whip with pretty much no fuss at all, but that version is now banned, and requires a rebuild. However, while not an errata, the whip in Adventurer's Armory itself uses different rules for PFS play, which alter it to function similarly to the whip in UE with respect to the quoted passage, though like the AA one otherwise:

Adventurer's Armory Page 4—Change the last sentence of the scorpion whip's description to the following, "If you are proficient with both scorpion whips and whips, you can use a scorpion whip in either the normal way, as a typical light performance weapon, or as a whip. When you use a scorpion whip as a whip, it is otherwise equivalent to a whip, but it deals lethal damage and can harm creatures regardless of their armor bonus."

So, outside PFS yes, as long as you use Ultimate Equipment and not Adventurer's Armory, but inside PFS yes, but you must use Adventurer's Armory instead of Ultimate Equipment.

Within PFS, as long as you use your option to count as a whip and are using the legal scorpion whip, anything that requires or works with/on whips will be fulfilled by or work with/on your scorpion whip, respectively.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Would it make a difference for feats like Weapon Focus or the Warpriest's Focused Weapon feature? \$\endgroup\$ – Nejosan Nov 16 '17 at 7:27
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Nejosan as Ulimate Equipment or Adventurer's Armory, in or out of PFS, and while choosing to count as a whip or not? If the yes states the answer mentions are possible, anything that works on a whip or requires a whip will work on/with your scorpion whip unless it specifically calls out otherwise. \$\endgroup\$ – Please stop being evil Nov 16 '17 at 7:31
  • \$\begingroup\$ The Adventurer's Armory version in PFS, while choosing to count as a whip. \$\endgroup\$ – Nejosan Nov 16 '17 at 7:33
  • \$\begingroup\$ So if I took Weapon Focus: Whip, I would get +1 to attack with scorpion whips while using them as a whip, and I would be able to use scorpion whips as my Warpriest's Focused Weapon so long as I am using them as a whip? \$\endgroup\$ – Nejosan Nov 16 '17 at 7:34
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Nejosan That's what my answer says, yes. Do you have any suggestions as to how I can make that more clear? I've edited it. \$\endgroup\$ – Please stop being evil Nov 16 '17 at 7:36
-2
\$\begingroup\$

Based on this forum I would say yes, any feats that reference a Whip are also usable when wielding a Scorpion Whip, if you're proficient in both.

The wording references (emphasis added)

If you are proficient with both the scorpion whip and whip, you can use a scorpion whip in either the normal way (as a light performance weapon) or as a whip.

Because of this line, (which Redditor neothelid points out is a difference in the PFS legal version from the non-legal version) you can use the Scorpion Whip as though it were a Whip. Any feats and abilities you have would apply as long as you use the Scorpion Whip as a One-Handed weapon (but not a Light weapon with Performance).

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.