9
\$\begingroup\$

Let's say that you are wielding a 10' reach weapon, but are engaged at 5' with an enemy who only has 5' reach. Can you stay engaged but move back 5' without triggering an opportunity attack?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ I'm confused, did you ask and then answer this question in the span of less than a minute? \$\endgroup\$ – Jonatan Hedborg Nov 30 '17 at 14:27
  • \$\begingroup\$ one thing that may need to be fixed is that your title and copy are asking the opposite question (as in if the answer to the title is yes, then the answer to the body will be no). it won't change the quality much but may confuse people who (like me) skip reading the question body some times. \$\endgroup\$ – Michael Gorman Nov 30 '17 at 14:33
  • 9
    \$\begingroup\$ @JonatanHedborg Asking and self-answering is a 100% accepted practice; getting quality information where other people can find it is the solitary goal of Stack Exchange. \$\endgroup\$ – T.J.L. Nov 30 '17 at 14:41
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @T.J.L. sure, I'm just confused as to why. Just answering a common question? \$\endgroup\$ – Jonatan Hedborg Nov 30 '17 at 14:45
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @JonatanHedborg I was also kind of surprised it wasn't here -and it's not entirely obvious. I could see a case that because you are still actively engaged, you haven't triggered (but the rules do seem clear it's the way I answered) \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Nov 30 '17 at 14:51
16
\$\begingroup\$

No, the Opportunity Attack is still triggered

The PHB (195) is clear on this:

You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach.

There are no additional caveats regarding remaining within your own reach and the only requirement is moving out of someone else's reach.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ What happens if you have multiple attacks with different reach? \$\endgroup\$ – Jonatan Hedborg Nov 30 '17 at 14:47
  • \$\begingroup\$ @JonatanHedborg Related. But in the case of your own triggering, the only important bit is you leaving the range of someone else. Your own reach is not applicable. \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Nov 30 '17 at 14:49
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Maybe add that being "engaged" isn't a game mechanic in 5e; that's entirely what reach represents. There's no notion of "moving out of reach but staying engaged", and opportunity attacks aren't defined in terms of "engagement". \$\endgroup\$ – Marq Nov 30 '17 at 16:04
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Marq you're right - i changed the language. \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Nov 30 '17 at 16:31

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.