8
\$\begingroup\$

So, sahuagin all possess the shark telepathy trait, which states:

Shark Telepathy. The sahuagin can magically command any shark within 120 feet of [it/her/him], using a limited telepathy.

It's not part of the actions section for the sahuagin, and no action is given. Should this be like the beastmaster having to use a bonus action each round thing, or more like the UA feat that lets you use a bonus action once and give a command that lasts a minute, or something else altogether?

\$\endgroup\$
8
\$\begingroup\$

No Action

Since no action is mentioned, there would be no reason to assume an action is required. I would view it similarly to how Conjured Animals and such are commanded: "They obey any verbal commands that you issue to them (no action required by you)".

\$\endgroup\$
2
\$\begingroup\$

No action required

“Shark Telepathy” is a “Special Trait” (MM p.10) of the creature: therefore it is not an action or reaction. As such it just happens, however, it is limited in the same way that talking is during combat - communication that could be done inside 6 seconds so no Shakespearean soliloquies.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.