30
\$\begingroup\$

The specific difference I'm thinking about is this:

Medusa:

Unless surprised, a creature can avert its eyes to avoid the saving throw at the start of its turn. If the creature does so, it can't see the medusa until the start of its next turn, when it can avert its eyes again.

Bodak:

Unless surprised, a creature can avert its eyes to avoid the saving throw at the start of its turn. If the creature does so, it has disadvantage on attack rolls against the bodak until the start of its next turn.

The effect from looking away from the medusa appears steeper, since "can't see" includes an inability to target her with many spell and her getting advantage on attacks, among other things. It seems like the effect should be the same since you avoid looking at the creatures eyes in both cases.

Can anyone provide a quote from the designers of the game about whether this difference is intentional?

\$\endgroup\$

closed as primarily opinion-based by SevenSidedDie May 19 '18 at 19:02

Many good questions generate some degree of opinion based on expert experience, but answers to this question will tend to be almost entirely based on opinions, rather than facts, references, or specific expertise. If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

  • 7
    \$\begingroup\$ Mod reminder: speculative or logical-reasoning answers will be removed for being off topic, since the question is whether it is intentional, not what answer-writers think or can make a logical case for. \$\endgroup\$ – SevenSidedDie Dec 26 '17 at 22:08
  • \$\begingroup\$ The game mechanics are the same, so I am confused as to what the issue is. If you can't see something it is essentially invisible to you (or you are blinded only with regards to it, take your pick) and you have disadvantage on attacks against targets you cannot see. So is this question only about the word choice by the developers? \$\endgroup\$ – Slagmoth Mar 29 '18 at 16:44
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Slagmoth - the game mechanics are not the same: for example, a bodak can be a target for spells with the "that you can see" restriction, a medusa can't. Similarly, the medusa has advantage on attack rolls against you (because you can't see it) the bodak doesn't. \$\endgroup\$ – Dale M Apr 8 '18 at 4:52
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Answers not citing sources will continue to be deleted. We're up to 8 now. \$\endgroup\$ – mxyzplk Apr 20 '18 at 15:20
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Duck that doesn't apply as Gauth, on Volo's, is worded exactly as Medusa. \$\endgroup\$ – HellSaint Apr 24 '18 at 5:24