I am building a spellcasting character using the Spheres of Power rules and one of the casting drawbacks I have taken is focused casting.
Your magic requires you to use an item such as a wand, holy symbol, ring, or staff to create magic. Using magic without your focus requires you to make a concentration check (DC 20 + 1/2 the caster level) to produce the desired effect. Failure means time (and any spell points) are spent, but no effect happens. If a focus is lost, stolen, or broken, the caster must create a new focus by securing the necessary item and spending 8 hours bonding with it. At the GM’s discretion, however, another caster’s focus may be used instead.
Using a focus is unclear, even under normal rules. I have always played that the focus must be presented in order to work. Now after looking closely I see no such requirement. Only that it must part of the casting. I'm not sure if just thinking about the one you own and are carrying, or just touching it is allowed.
Can anyone clear up if a focus needs to be brandished under SoP rules or what the requirements would be?