12
\$\begingroup\$

The Enlarge/Reduce spell can make a creature one size category bigger.

Considering that two spell effects of the same nature cannot stack at the same place and time (you can't cast two Enlarges on the same Medium target to make it Huge), is there another way (spell, item, etc.) to increase a target's size category that could be stacked with the Enlarge effect in order to increase the target's size category twice ?

\$\endgroup\$
0
15
\$\begingroup\$

I believe it is possible if you're one lucky WM sorcerer.

Per the Wild Magic sorcerer's Wild Magic Surge table (PHB, p. 104), if you roll the d100 and get a result of 93-94:

Your size increases by one size category for the next minute.

It doesn't specify that you cast enlarge/reduce on yourself. In other cases, it explicitly states that you "cast" spells:

You cast fireball as a 3rd-level spell centered on yourself.
You cast magic missile as a 5th-level spell.

and so on.

So enlarge/reduce the spell and the wild magic enlarge effect aren't spell effects of the same name and can be stacked.

\$\endgroup\$
5
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ I think, contrasting with keithcurtis' answer, that it'd be worth pointing out not only that you're not casting enlarge, but also you're not even gaining the effect of enlarge. Your size is just changing, so there is no question of effects stacking. \$\endgroup\$ – nitsua60 Dec 8 '17 at 13:44
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @nitsua60 Fair point, I'm still new to tabletop RPGs and their rulings, just wanted to do one's bit. \$\endgroup\$ – AntiDrondert Dec 8 '17 at 13:56
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @MarkWells I’ve edited the answer to be more clear and removed my down vote. \$\endgroup\$ – Thomas Markov Jan 18 at 2:53
  • \$\begingroup\$ I think the specific callout that the Wild Magic effect is not casting enlarge/reduce, and the words "these two are not spell effects of the same nature", make it clear. It would still be worth revising for clarity, though. \$\endgroup\$ – Mark Wells Jan 18 at 3:04
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @MarkWells Yeah, check my revision. Does that look good to you? \$\endgroup\$ – Thomas Markov Jan 18 at 3:06
9
\$\begingroup\$

Enlarge would stack with the spell polymorph or the druid's Wild Shape feature, which allow you to assume a different size category, based on the shape. If you want to remain the same creature type, I don't think you can.

Using a Potion of Growth might require a DM call, since it says it duplicates the effect of the enlarge/reduce spell, but is not actually the spell itself. I think most DMs would disallow the combination, but since the potion is a consumable, DM-controlled resource, it's unlikely to become unbalancing.

\$\endgroup\$
0
3
\$\begingroup\$

Level 14+ Giant Soul Sorcerers (Unearthed Arcana) can use Rage of Fallen Ostoria, letting them increase size category by 1 for a minute, once per short rest.

Starting at 14th level, you gain the ability to channel the souls of your ancestors into your physical form. When you start casting a sorcerer spell on your turn and expend a spell slot, youcan increase your size by one category—from Medium to Large, for example.

You can either cast Enlarge on top of that, or wait until level 18, when you can use it twice per short rest, and are explicitly permitted to stack it on itself.

In addition, you can now use Rage of Fallen Ostoria twice between rests, but no more than once on a turn. If you use that feature while under its effects, its increases to your size, hit points, reach, and walking speed are cumulative.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Speaking of Unearthed Arcana, the recently published Rune Knight allows a similar thing ! (Becoming chunky) \$\endgroup\$ – Gael L Oct 30 '19 at 16:36
2
\$\begingroup\$

For a Non-Player Character Duergar

Monster Duergar have a once per short rest ability to gain similar effects to the enlarge part of the enlarge/reduce spell (it doubles weapon damage dice rather than adds 1d4 and requires no concentration, so usually superior). They become a large creature for the duration. Because this is a magical ability rather than a spell it can stack with the enlarge/reduce spell. And voila, you have a huge Dwarf.

The player race Duergar casts it as a spell, however, so unless you have a friendly NPC party member with the creature stats rather than player race stats there is probably not a time when you want to do this.

\$\endgroup\$
0
1
\$\begingroup\$

How about a potion of giant size and then using enlarge/reduce spell as a stack. The first just states you gain the Huge trait; then using enlarge/reduce, you can therefore double the size of a creature.

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ You should probably quote and cite the things you're referring to, in particular the magic item as it might not be widely known. Also as terminology pedantry, it's Huge size, it's not a trait as such. (You can edit to include this, no need to mark the edit). \$\endgroup\$ – Someone_Evil Jan 17 at 23:49
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Oh and, Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already and see the help center or ask us here in the comments (use @ to ping someone) if you need more guidance. Good Luck and Happy Gaming! \$\endgroup\$ – Someone_Evil Jan 17 at 23:49
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ This needs editing more than it needs downvoting... It is (barring one misnomer) one of multiple correct answers, & not presented in the other answers here: Potion of Giant Size & Potion of Growth / Enlarge/Reduce do stack (if applied in that order). \$\endgroup\$ – ProphetZarquon Mar 30 at 10:51
-1
\$\begingroup\$

Hummm... rune knight lvl 3 feral might... you become large. Huge at lvl 18. So with enlarge spell boom.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Please expand this answer with further details by citing the relevant rules and explaining how they interact etc. While this answer may be correct we expect a bit more detail and explanation. \$\endgroup\$ – Purple Monkey Jul 20 at 4:29
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Hi AJ it can help if you ad your source material too, e.g. book and page number. :) \$\endgroup\$ – Senmurv Jul 20 at 7:30

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.