3
\$\begingroup\$

Technically speaking, you can use any object as an improvised weapon, including a ranged weapon's ammunition (ex: arrow).

The Eldritch Knight's Weapon Bond feature does not prohibit improvised weapons to be used for the bond.

Could an Eldritch Knight bond with an ammunition, therefore always having at least one to shoot each turn at the cost of a bonus action?

\$\endgroup\$
11
\$\begingroup\$

RAW, No. It has to be an actual weapon

Jeremy Crawford sent out a ruling on this one over twitter:

Weapon Bond works with a bona fide weapon ("Behold, my sword!"), not an improvised weapon ("Look, a stool!").

He later clarified on this exact topic, saying:

Weapon Bond works with a bow or a crossbow, not with a quiver or an arrow.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Well, it seems like Crawford outsmarted me again ! \$\endgroup\$ – Gael L Dec 6 '17 at 21:00
  • \$\begingroup\$ I would add that allowing it as a homerule would not break anything. It costs your bonus action, and the magic from the +1 arrow is lost anyway. \$\endgroup\$ – András Dec 7 '17 at 8:18

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.