15
\$\begingroup\$

While I know you can't cast 2 spells of first level or higher in a turn, and actions can't just be used as bonus actions, is the reverse true?

Say there's a barbarian cleric that rages as a bonus action: can they use healing word as an action, when it normally takes a bonus action? Can bonus actions be used as actions in the case of using a bonus for something else such as rage?

\$\endgroup\$
22
\$\begingroup\$

This was answered in a Sage Advice article (you can find it in the Sage Advice compendium).

Q: Can a bonus action be used as an action or vice versa? For example, can a bard use a bonus action to grant a Bardic Inspiration die and an action to cast healing word?

A: No. Actions and bonus actions aren't interchangeable. In the example, the bard could use Bardic Inspiration or healing word on a turn, but not both.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ That seems so counter-intuitive! \$\endgroup\$ – Isaac Reefman Aug 12 '18 at 22:42
  • \$\begingroup\$ I guess you could look at it as "casting a spell quickly takes up a certain amount of arcane energy. Within the space of 6 seconds, you can only access a small amount more." \$\endgroup\$ – Isaac Reefman Aug 12 '18 at 22:51
3
\$\begingroup\$

RAW, no; they are separate categories. My own inclination is that bonus actions are specifically quicker than full actions, and I will almost always allow a character to use his full action to perform a bonus action. It doesn't break the game.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.