3
\$\begingroup\$

The conjuration wizard school has an ability named Focused Conjuration which says

Beginning at 10th level, while you are concentrating on a conjuration spell, your concentration can’t be broken as a result of taking damage.

The elder brain has the legendary action Break Concentration which says

The elder brain targets a creature within 120 feet of it with which it has a psychic link. The elder brain breaks the creature's concentration on a spell it has cast. The creature also takes 1d4 psychic damage per level of the spell.

So if a wizard has the spell conjure elemental up and the elder brain uses its Legendary Action, is the wizard's concentration broken?

\$\endgroup\$
10
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, the concentration is broken.

Focused Conjuration

Beginning at 10th level, while you are concentrating on a conjuration spell, your concentration can’t be broken as a result of taking damage

(emphasis mine)

Note that the ability only prevents breaking concentration "as a result of taking damage" and not from other causes.

Break Concentraion

The elder brain targets a creature within 120 feet of it with which it has a psychic link. The elder brain breaks the creature's concentration on a spell it has cast. The creature also takes ld4 psychic damage per level of the spell

Since the ability "Break Concentration" simply breaks concentration (and not as a result of damage) then it would still apply as normal.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.