If a hero went inside a colossal dragons stomach and started stabbing him in there would the dragon be able to use summon monster within itself in order to fight the hero that is in his stomach?

  • \$\begingroup\$ @HeyICanChan line of effect, definitely, but not line of sight. The only thing between the dragon and the hero is the dragon, and you don't block line of effect for yourself. It would be just silly. \$\endgroup\$ Dec 10, 2017 at 15:33

1 Answer 1


No. As per the SRD, under Conjuration:

A creature or object brought into being or transported to your location by a conjuration spell cannot appear inside another creature or object, nor can it appear floating in an empty space. It must arrive in an open location on a surface capable of supporting it.

  • \$\begingroup\$ That's the problem. The inside of a dragon is capable of supporting a creature summoned inside of it. \$\endgroup\$ Dec 10, 2017 at 16:20
  • 8
    \$\begingroup\$ @MaikoChikyu even though that’s true, it doesn’t negate the preceding sentence. “Cannot appear inside another creature” reads rather clear and explicit to me. \$\endgroup\$ Dec 10, 2017 at 16:25
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @MaikoChikyu “surface capable of supporting it” means it can't be liquid or air or other surface incapable of supporting the weight of the creature. It's not taking about environments or atmospheres that can support life. \$\endgroup\$ Dec 10, 2017 at 17:47
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @MaikoChikyu: In any case, the stomach of a dragon certainly does not count as "an open location." \$\endgroup\$ Dec 10, 2017 at 19:45
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @FrancisJohn : one might nitpick the meaning of "another". Does it mean other than the summoner, or other than the summoned? I guess the purpose of this role was to prohibit telefragging. \$\endgroup\$
    – vsz
    Dec 10, 2017 at 21:46

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .