10
\$\begingroup\$

In this question, I have been told the difference between a "melee attack" (which, if I understand correctly, Shoves and Grapples are) and a "melee weapon attack" (which they are not).

A Bugbear's Long Limbed feature gives him 5 feet of extra reach for melee attacks made on his turn.

So, is a Bugbear's Long Limbed reach also applied to special attacks (Shoves & Grapples)?

\$\endgroup\$
17
\$\begingroup\$

Yes - As long as it is on your turn

Long-limbed

When you make a melee attack on your turn, your reach for it is 5 feet greater than normal.

Grapple

...you can use the Attack action to make a special melee attack, a grapple....

The target of your grapple must be no more than one size larger than you and must be within your reach.

Shove

Using the Attack action, you can make a special melee attack to shove...

The target must be no more than one size larger than you and must be within your reach.

As long as you Grapple or Shove on your turn then you can apply the extra reach from long-limbed.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ It is worth noting that long limbed only applies on your turn, so the grapple could not be maintained \$\endgroup\$ Jan 14 at 15:08

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.