5
\$\begingroup\$

The spell Animate Undead (not Animate Dead), animates a corpse for a number of rounds equal to your level. After this duration, the undead presumably becomes a corpse again.

The spell has the following to say:

a soul is present in any corporeal remains for which the creature has not been resurrected or previously animated as an undead. a soul can also be obtained from trap the soul, magic jar, or similar magic.

but the spell doesn't outright state that a soul is required, at least on the d20PFSRD. As written, I am unsure if a corpse that had already been used for Animate Undead is a valid target for a further casting of Animate Undead. Can I cast Animate Undead on the same corpse again?

I have already looked at this question, but it is referring to a different spell and situation.

\$\endgroup\$
5
\$\begingroup\$

A soul is required for some undead, but not all of them. Starting with Animate Undead III, in the table, the Shadow appears to be the first Undead which requires a soul.

Unless you're dealing with one of the small handful of undead which require souls, which you can't re-animate due to the line

a soul is present in any corporeal remains for which the creature has not been resurrected or previously animated as an undead.

I would say the important line is

Remains must be mostly intact.

So, as long as the remains are "mostly intact" after each casting, it would appear you can keep re-animating them.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.