5
\$\begingroup\$

The wording of the monk's Opportunist ability is confusing me slightly. It says :

Whenever a creature within 5 feet of you is hit by an attack made by a creature other than you, you can use your reaction to make a melee attack against that creature.

It uses a reaction, so it should only be possible once per round but it also says you can do it whenever the trigger occurs which suggests you can do it multiple times. Which is it?

\$\endgroup\$
12
\$\begingroup\$

You only have one Reaction

The whenever is the trigger, but the effect is the use of your Reaction and therefore still under all of the same rules for reactions (PHB, 190).

When you take a reaction, you can’t take another one until the start of your next turn.

|improve this answer|||||
\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.