12
\$\begingroup\$

The Grave Domain cleric (Xanathar's Guide to Everything, p. 19-20) gets the Circle of Mortality feature at 1st level, part of which states:

In addition, you learn the spare the dying cantrip, which doesn’t count against the number of cleric cantrips you know. For you, it has a range of 30 feet, and you can cast it as a bonus action.

This wording seems to imply the option, rather than necessity, to cast it as a bonus action. Am I correct in assuming this? Can I still cast it as an action and have my bonus action available?

\$\endgroup\$
17
\$\begingroup\$

The text says "you can cast it as a bonus action." Can cast, as opposed to must cast, denotes an option, not a requirement. This has no effect on the default option to cast this spell as an action.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ The PHB in 5e always uses the phrase "You can do y as x type action" or "you can use your x to do y". eg. "Breath Weapon. You can use your action to exhale destructive energy. " This seems to avoid anyone misreading that you MUST use your breath weapon as your action. Or you MUST cast it as a bonus action. This doesn't mean you can use another action type. \$\endgroup\$ – Luke Dec 14 '17 at 22:14
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Breath Weapon's option is to use your action to do it. Or not do it. I think this is more appropriate for chat \$\endgroup\$ – Luke Dec 14 '17 at 22:37

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.