3
\$\begingroup\$

Can you use a higher level pearl of power to regain a lower spell slot? Say you have a Pearl of Power 3, could I use it to regain a 1st level spell slot, or is it specifically only for that slot and no others?

\$\endgroup\$
6
\$\begingroup\$

Strictly speaking, it must be of that level:

The spell must be of a particular level, depending on the pearl.

The D&D 3.5 FAQ agrees:

Can a pearl of power be used to recall a spell of a lower level than it's designed for? After all, I could have prepared a lower-level spell in that spell slot.

No. A 5th-level pearl of power can recall only a 5th-level spell, even if all you prepared as 5th-level spells were multiple castings of stoneskin.

Any metamagic effects (or other effects that altered the spell's level) apply, so a 5th-level pearl of power can recall the quickened magic missile you've already cast, but not the empowered cone of cold (since that's a 7th-level spell).

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking "Post Your Answer", you acknowledge that you have read our updated terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy, and that your continued use of the website is subject to these policies.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.