Wild Magic Surges may only trigger after casting a sorcerer spell of 1st level or higher. By default, sorcerers cannot cast spells as rituals, but if they take the Ritual Caster feat, they can (for the list of a chosen class, including sorcerer).

My question is : provided that a Wild Mage takes the Ritual Caster feat with the sorcerer class option (there are 4 sorcerer rituals in total : Detect Magic, Comprehend Languages, Water Breathing and Water Walk), can he then trigger Wild Magic Surges upon casting either of these 4 spells as a ritual ?

  • \$\begingroup\$ Related, maybe even a duplicate: rpg.stackexchange.com/questions/107253/… \$\endgroup\$ – Derek Stucki Dec 15 '17 at 22:04
  • \$\begingroup\$ Ooops! Didn't see that one. \$\endgroup\$ – Gael L Dec 15 '17 at 22:05
  • \$\begingroup\$ I'm not sure this is a duplicate, and even if it is, properly marked duplicates are not a bad thing as they can help direct people to the original question. If you want, you could reference the linked question in yours, then change it to ask if casting as a ritual changes the answer. Up to you. \$\endgroup\$ – Derek Stucki Dec 15 '17 at 22:08


Performing a ritual is still casting a spell (you even have to take the Cast a Spell action every turn). Since the Wild Magic Surge feature does not limit it to "when you cast a sorcerer spell with a 1st or higher level spell slot", any form of casting a sorcerer spell can trigger it.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Ok, very nice! I was wondering about it, because my Dm yesterday ruled that sorcerer rituals (gained by the feat) would not trigger surges. \$\endgroup\$ – Gael L Dec 16 '17 at 1:17
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @GaelL To be fair, the rule is that the DM may call for a roll. It is mentioned in addition to rule zero. \$\endgroup\$ – Szega Dec 16 '17 at 1:23
  • \$\begingroup\$ Ya! But his reason for refusing ritual surging seemed logical : he said that surges are more of an issue nstantaneous thing, whereas rituals are more calm and not so wild. \$\endgroup\$ – Gael L Dec 16 '17 at 1:26

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.