9
\$\begingroup\$

Wild Magic Surges may only trigger after casting a sorcerer spell of 1st level or higher. By default, sorcerers cannot cast spells as rituals, but if they take the Ritual Caster feat, they can (for the list of a chosen class, including sorcerer).

My question is : provided that a Wild Mage takes the Ritual Caster feat with the sorcerer class option (there are 4 sorcerer rituals in total : Detect Magic, Comprehend Languages, Water Breathing and Water Walk), can he then trigger Wild Magic Surges upon casting either of these 4 spells as a ritual ?

\$\endgroup\$
1
12
\$\begingroup\$

Yes

Performing a ritual is still casting a spell (you even have to take the Cast a Spell action every turn). Since the Wild Magic Surge feature does not limit it to "when you cast a sorcerer spell with a 1st or higher level spell slot", any form of casting a sorcerer spell can trigger it.

\$\endgroup\$
0

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.