3
\$\begingroup\$

Does a character’s first set of clothes count towards encumbrance (carried weight)? I know they specifically don’t in 3.5, but I can’t find something similar in Pathfinder.

\$\endgroup\$
5
\$\begingroup\$

The 2nd Q of the Equipment section of the unofficial FAQ at d20pfsrd quotes Jason Bulmahn (Paizo's Director of Game Design) from a forum post he posted on 10/8/09:

A: (Jason Bulmahn 10/8/09) Folks, as of right now, there is nothing in the RAW that states that one suit of clothing does not count toward encumbrance. So, as of this moment, clothing does count. I will revisit this issue when it comes time for the next batch of updates.

(Emphasis mine.)

The core PF Erratas published since then don't seem to have addressed this question.

I'm not 100% sure it hasn't been fixed / updated elsewhere, though.

(Note also, please, that the same FAQ entry also quotes James Jacobs (Paizo's Creative Director) saying

A: (James Jacobs) In games I run, one suit of worn clothing won’t count for encumbrance. I’m relatively sure that the omission of that line from the rules was an oversight, but it’s not something that I think warrants a full-blown errata.

Nonetheless, what I've found on the Paizo forums seem to go with Jason Bulmahn's stricter reading of the RAW.)

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.